We’ll know exactly when the PlayStation 4 is set to launch this time next week. While a date always seemed likely at GamesCom, Sony has teased that its 20th August press conference will play host to “release plans” for the next generation console, as well as updates on the PlayStation 3 and Vita.

“For one week in August 2013, the Koelnmesse in Cologne, Germany becomes the centre of the gaming universe as the world's biggest publishers and developers invite you to check out the games that will light up the rest of the year and beyond,” notes a page on the official PlayStation website. Are you feeling excited yet?

The press conference – which is scheduled to start at 18:00PM BST (10:00AM PST / 13:00PM EST) – will be livestreamed, and we’ll have all of the big news from the show. In the meantime, look out for our massive PlayStation predictions post later today, and don’t forget to tell us what you’re hoping to see in the comments section below.

[via uk.playstation.com]