News Article

Unsurprisingly, The Last of Us Leads the DICE Awards Nominations

Posted by Chris Lloyd

It wasn't for nothing

Naughty Dog may soon need a bigger trophy cabinet, as The Last of Us has been nominated for another 13 gongs at this year's 17th annual DICE Awards, including Game of the Year. Also in contention for the honour are Grand Theft Auto V, BioShock Infinite, Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag, and The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds. The survival horror opus has already won innumerable accolades, including our coveted Gold Trophy.

Last year's other PlayStation exclusives are also well represented, with Puppeteer, God of War: Ascension, Rain, Beyond: Two Souls, Tearaway, Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch, and Resogun all recognised for their various achievements.

The ceremony will be held on 6th February, and will be livestreamed from the Hard Rock Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas. The full list of nominees can be viewed through here, as chosen by an industry panel. Which titles do you think deserve a shiny new gong? Announce your winners in the comments below.


Game Screenshots

User Comments (4)



Gamer83 said:


Even a lot of people who loved Heavy Rain weren't overly enamored with Beyond: Two Souls so I'm not really surprised it hasn't gotten too many nominations for end of 2013 awards. I haven't played the game myself, aside from the demo, so I can't judge it, but it seems like David Cage's games are always very divisive. Naughty Dog makes games that are similarly heavy on the cinematics but go with a different style of gameplay that appeals to more audiences which is why that company is able to get into more GOTY discussions. TLoU is one my favorite games of all-time so I'm glad to see it up for another award.



ScreamAimFire99 said:

It's scary to think that if The Last of Us didn't come out last year then Grand Theft Auto V would be winning Game of the Year awards without any competition.

Leave A Comment

Hold on there, you need to login to post a comment...