Resident Evil Village PS5 PS4

Resident Evil Village has won its first Game of the Year accolade at this evening's Golden Joystick Awards, where it was crowned the Ultimate Game of the Year and the PlayStation Game of the Year. It then also won the Best Audio and Best Performer (Maggie Robertson as Lady Dimitrescu) categories. The Golden Joystick Awards are decided by a public vote, meaning the games that won were decided by the fans and players. The Critics Choice Award went to Deathloop.

Elsewhere, Life Is Strange: True Colors took home the award for Best Storytelling, Death's Door was crowned the Best Indie Game, and the PlayStation 5 console was the Best Gaming Hardware according to voters. Ratchet & Clank: Rift Apart had the Best Visual Design, the Iki island expansion for Ghost of Tsushima was named the Best Game Expansion, and Returnal developer Housemarque took home the Breakthrough Award. The Ultimate Game of All Time was also voted on, with the winner being Dark Souls.

The complete list of awards and winners is as follows:

  • Best Storytelling — Life is Strange: True Colors
  • Best Multiplayer Game — It Takes Two
  • Best Audio — Resident Evil: Village
  • Best Visual Design — Ratchet and Clank: Rift Apart
  • Best Game Expansion — Ghost of Tsushima: Iki Island Expansion
  • Mobile Game of the Year — League of Legends: Wild Rift
  • Best Gaming Hardware — PS5
  • Best Indie Game — Death's Door
  • Studio of the Year — Capcom
  • Best Performer — Maggie Robertson (Lady Dimitrescu)
  • Breakthrough Award — Housemarque
  • Best Game Community — Final Fantasy 14
  • Still Playing Award — Final Fantasy 14
  • PC Game of the Year — Hitman 3
  • Nintendo Game of the Year — Metroid Dread
  • Xbox Game of the Year — Psychonauts 2
  • PlayStation Game of the Year — Resident Evil Village
  • Most Wanted Game — Elden Ring
  • Critics Choice Award — Deathloop
  • Ultimate Game of the Year — Resident Evil Village
  • Ultimate Hardware of All Time — PC
  • Ultimate Game of All Time — Dark Souls