So much content. And it's free (in kinds). The latest batch of goodies for subscribers comes from SEGA, with a bunch of Mega Drive Genesis classics pledged for the PlayStation Network at a grand cost of zilch. While the European PlayStation Blog is a little more cagey with details (don't worry, we're still definitely getting the 16-bit classics for free), the American PlayStation Blog fleshes things out a little more. Don't worry, we'll type Genesis (but we're not happy with it).

Six Genesis titles in total are headed to the PlayStation Network, including: Sonic The Hedgehog, Sonic The Hedgehog 2, Streets Of Rage 2, Golden Axe 2, Comix Zone, and Altered Beast. As a nice little surprise, each of the titles will include its own set of trophies. While the games will cost $4.99 each for vanilla PlayStation Network users, Plus subscribers will net the titles for free a couple of weeks early. Not bad, eh?

We've included the full release schedule after the jump. The game's are set to launch right through the year, so you might want to mark your calendars with a particular favourite.

PlayStation Plus Releases (free)

  • Sonic the Hedgehog – Available March 1 – April 5
  • Sonic the Hedgehog 2 – Available April 5 – May 3
  • Streets of Rage 2 – Available May 3 – May 31
  • Golden Axe 2 – Available May 31 – July 5
  • Comix Zone – Available July 5 – August 2
  • Altered Beast – Available August 2 – August 30

Regular PlayStation Store Release ($4.99 each)

  • Sonic the Hedgehog – March 29
  • Sonic the Hedgehog 2 – April 19
  • Streets of Rage 2 – May 17
  • Golden Axe 2 – June 14
  • Comix Zone – July 19
  • Altered Beast – August 16