If for any reason you're not interested in the tracks available, then being forced to buy this game as full package is probably not recommended.

Providing classic hits from the Guitar Hero franchise's history, Smash Hits aims to bring those once guitar-only experiences to World Tour's full-band. It wouldn't be too unfair to say that these tracks could have been released as DLC, allowing players to pick from a list of songs they want and not forcing them to spend upwards of £30 on them. However, this is a full package and as such you get a reasonably complete experience.

Probably the biggest problem with Smash Hits is that by choosing songs from the Guitar Hero history, they're choosing songs that are most notable for their guitar parts. Does anybody really want to play the drum section of Dragonforce's Through The Fire And The Flames? If your answer is a resounding yes then Guitar Hero: Smash Hits will probably be the perfect package for you.

The game includes support for the GHTunes feature which allows you to use samples to write your own songs and upload them to the Guitar Hero servers. However, you won't be able to buy and download DLC tracks in Smash Hits like you would in World Tour. Given there are no import options it's kind of frustrating having to switch discs constantly to access the content you want.

Still, you get all the typical competitive/co-op features and a career mode. This is a complete Guitar Hero package with classic songs on it. We can't stress enough that your purchasing decision will be based solely on the tracks available. If you want to play them, this is the game for you. If you don't, then skip Smash Hits.

Track Listing:


Guitar Hero

  • Blue Oyster Cult "Godzilla"
  • Boston "More Than a Feeling"
  • Deep Purple "Smoke on the Water"
  • The Donnas "Take it Off"
  • The Exies "Hey You"
  • Franz Ferdinand "Take Me Out"
  • Helmet "Unsung" (Live)
  • Incubus "Stellar"
  • Joan Jett and The Blackhearts "I Love Rock N Roll"
  • Ozzy Osbourne "Bark At The Moon"
  • Pantera "Cowboys from Hell (Live)"
  • Queen "Killer Queen"
  • Queens of The Stone Age "No One Knows"
  • White Zombie "Thunder Kiss '65"

Guitar Hero II

  • Alice in Chains "Them Bones"
  • Avenged Sevenfold "Beast And The Harlot"
  • Danzig "Mother"
  • Foo Fighters "Monkey Wrench"
  • Iron Maiden "The Trooper"
  • Jane's Addiction "Stop!"
  • Kansas "Carry On Wayward Son"
  • Lamb of God "Laid To Rest"
  • Lynyrd Skynyrd "Free Bird"
  • Motley Crue "Shout At The Devil"
  • Nirvana "Heart-Shaped Box"
  • The Police "Message In A Bottle"
  • Rage Against The Machine "Killing In The Name"
  • Reverend Horton Heat "Psychobilly Freakout"
  • Rush "YYZ"
  • Stone Temple Pilots "Trippin' On A Hole In A Paper Heart"
  • The Sword "Freya"
  • Warrant "Cherry Pie"
  • Wolfmother "Woman"

Guitar Hero Encore: Rocks the 80s

  • Anthrax "Caught In A Mosh"
  • Extreme "Play With Me"
  • Judas Priest "Electric Eye"
  • Poison "Nothin But A Good Time"
  • Ratt "Round and Round"
  • Twisted Sister "I Wanna Rock"

Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock

  • AFI "Miss Murder"
  • DragonForce "Through the Fire and Flames"
  • Heart "Barracuda"
  • KISS "Rock & Roll Night"
  • Living Colour "Cult of Personality"
  • Pat Benatar "Hit Me with Your Best Shot"
  • Priestess "Lay Down"
  • Slayer "Raining Blood"

Guitar Hero: Aerosmith

  • Aerosmith "Back In The Saddle"