The Meaning of Life is a Main Quest in Final Fantasy 16, following on from Buried Memories. As part of our Final Fantasy 16 guide, we're going to explain everything you need to know about The Meaning of Life.

The Meaning of Life: Overview

Final Fantasy 16: The Meaning of Life Walkthrough 1
The Meaning of Life begins straight after completing the previous quest, Buried Memories. — Image: Push Square
Type Description
Main Quest

Clive finally accepts the truth: that he is the Dominant of Ifrit, the second Eikon of Fire. Along with this knowledge, he finds a new purpose — to unravel the mystery of why he was chosen to bear this burden, and live not for revenge, but to atone for the crimes he committed thirteen years before.

The Meaning of Life: Walkthrough

The Meaning of Life sees Clive and Jill returning from Phoenix Gate, heading for Eastpool.

Cross back through The Dim towards the village. There are some Potions to pick up along the way. When you get to the Eastpool gate, a brief cutscene will play, after which you'll be in battle with some Imperial soldiers. Progress through the village, defeating each group.

Final Fantasy 16: The Meaning of Life Walkthrough 4
Image: Push Square

Once all the enemies are dead, a brief cutscene will introduce a larger, hammer-wielding foe.

Enemies Spoils:

Final Fantasy 16: The Meaning of Life Walkthrough 5
Image: Push Square

With all the enemies defeated, watch the next cutscene. Fast travel to The Hideaway to end the quest.

Objective Log

  • Return to Eastpool
  • Slay the invaders
  • Return to the hideaway

Did you follow this walkthrough for The Meaning of Life? For more information on Final Fantasy 16, including All Quests, refer to our Final Fantasy 16 guide through the link.