Last week, SEGA announced Sonic Origins Plus, an expanded and improved version of its mascot's retro compilation. Launching in June, the package's big new addition is a dozen Game Gear games — all the ones related to the blue blur — as well making Amy a playable character in the Mega Drive titles. At first pass, it sounds like a much better package, but fans aren't too pleased.

To recap, these are all the Game Gear Sonic titles included with Sonic Origins Plus:

  • Sonic the Hedgehog
  • Sonic the Hedgehog 2
  • Sonic Chaos
  • Sonic the Hedgehog: Triple Trouble
  • Sonic Labyrinth
  • Sonic Blast
  • Sonic Drift
  • Sonic Drift 2
  • Sonic 2 in 1
  • Tails Adventure
  • Tails' Skypatrol
  • Sonic Spinball

Now, the problem this time around is with these extra games. SEGA has elected to include the Game Gear versions of all the above, but the trouble is that the emulated software ends up zoomed in and cramped, making the games tougher to play. Many of the listed games are also available on Master System, where they look and play much better thanks to a fuller picture. Here's an example of the difference:

Unfortunately, the Master System versions are not the ones included with Sonic Origins Plus. It's a choice that's left Sonic fans frustrated. After the initial release of Sonic Origins failed to impress with emulation issues and a general lack of content, this Plus upgrade feels a little like one step forward, one step back.

What do you think? Is Sonic Origins Plus making a big blunder, or are you just glad the 8-bit games are included at all? Discuss in the comments section below.