Rock Band 4 PlayStation 4 PS4
A sneak peek at the theme

Despite its reliance on physical peripherals, Rock Band 4 is probably the kind of game that you'll want stored on your PlayStation 4 hard drive at all times. There's good news for PlayStation Plus members, then, as pre-ordering the release digitally in North America will grant you access to ten extra exclusive songs. These will include everything from Duran Duran to Pantera, so a good mix for all tastes.

It's worth remembering that the title will be compatible with "most" pre-existing PlayStation kit, so if you've kept your guitars and drums locked away in a cupboard these past few years, then it may be time to dig them back out. Mad Catz will be making a brand new set of peripherals, while third-party controllers should work as well – though no guarantees in that department, of course.

The even better news is that all 1,500 DLC songs will be compatible with the title, and if you bought any of them on the PlayStation 3, you'll automatically own them on the PS4. In other words, you may already have everything that you need for the ultimate Rock Band 4 party, so you haven't got a whole lot to lose by pre-ordering now. In fact, you'll even get an exclusive theme for your troubles starting today.

And don't worry if you're in Europe: Harmonix says that it's looking to roll out the digital pre-order – with the aforementioned ten song bonus – on your shores soon.

As for the game itself, it's very much based upon its predecessors, but does come packing a handful of new features, including freestyle guitar solos and more dynamic drum fills. Will you be rocking out this October? Throw us the horns down below.

PlayStation Plus Exclusive Pre-Order Songs

  • All That Remains – "Divide"
  • Blitz Kids – "Run For Cover"
  • Bring Me The Horizon – "Throne"
  • Dead Sara – "Mona Lisa"
  • Duran Duran – "The Reflex"
  • Janis Joplin – "Move Over"
  • Of Mice & Men – "Would You Still Be There"
  • Oh Honey – "Sugar You"
  • Pantera – "Cowboys From Hell (Live from Monsters in Moscow Festival)"
  • Seastick Steve – "Summertime Boy"