"Pretending I'm a superman!"

Love it or loathe it, the music from the first three Tony Hawk titles defined a generation. We have fond memories of holding a cassette recorder next to our TV’s speakers in order to capture some of the game’s classic tunes.

Sadly, licensed music is a sticky subject, especially when you’re talking about HD remakes such as Tony Hawk’s Pro Skater HD. As previously warned, Activision has not managed to secure all of the songs that made the original Pro Skater games so great. It has got a handful, though.

Flying back into the high definition upgrade is Goldfinger’s “Superman”. It’ll be joined by Powerman 5000’s “When Worlds Collide” and Bad Religion’s “You”. Sadly, there’s no room for Primus’ “Jerry Was a Race Car Driver”.

The roster’s been fleshed out with a selection of new songs. Having had a quick listen, we’re not sure Pigeon John’s “The Bomb” necessarily fits the old-school Tony Hawk vibe, but we’re willing to give it a chance once. Well, at least until we give up on the in-game music altogether and fall back on The Starting Line's hugely appropriate "Say It Like You Mean It". Missed opportunity Activision, missed opportunity.

Returning tracks:

1. Bring the Noise - Anthrax featuring Chuck D
2. Superman - Goldfinger
3. When Worlds Collide - Powerman 5000
4. Heavy Metal Winner - Consumed
5. May 16 - Lagwagon
6. No Cigar - Millencolin
7. You - Bad Religion

New tracks:

1. The Bomb - Pigeon John
2. We the People - Lateef the Truthspeaker
3. Marathon Mansion! - Pegasuses-XL
4. Teenage Blood - Apex Manor
5. Please Ask for Help - Telekinesis
6. Flyentology (Cassettes Won't Listen Remix) - El-P featuring Trent Reznor
7. USA - Middle Class Rut