Need for Speed Payback PS4 PlayStation 4

EA's approach to the latest Need for Speed game has been slightly unusual. Ahead of E3, developer Ghost Games revealed it's working on the next instalment in the racing series, and that it'll launch in 2019, but that it wouldn't be present at the Los Angeles trade show. We're mere months away from the supposed release of this game, but haven't seen head nor tail of it. However, it seems that's all about to change.

A countdown timer on the official Need for Speed webpage suggests we'll be getting the first information about the new game in a couple of days. To be precise, we should see some kind of reveal on Wednesday 14th August at 6am PDT / 9am EDT / 2pm BST / 3pm CEST.

We imagine we'll probably get a title and a brief teaser, with more to follow during Gamescom later in the month.

Are you excited to see the new Need for Speed? What do you want out of the next game in the series? Put your foot down in the comments below.

[via ea.com, twitter.com]