PSN PlayStation Network Name Changes 1

Sony’s been sending out beta codes for the new PlayStation 4 firmware update which allows you to change your username. There are a few disclaimers before you go ahead, though, and they’re freakin’ terrifying to say the least. The platform holder warns that you “may” lose access to content you’ve purchased for games, like add-ons and virtual currency. It also warns of potential lost progress, leaderboard data, and progress towards Trophies.

There are a few things worth pointing out here: this is a disclaimer, and it’s the company effectively covering its ass should anything go wrong. Remember, we are in beta territory, so the organisation’s going to want to know about any hiccups and bugs. From what we’ve seen online and around social media, those brave souls who’ve changed their names haven’t had too much trouble yet, so the warning is potentially scarier than the reality.

It’s also worth pointing out that there’s no mention of you having to wholesale “give up” access to any games, saves, or Trophies prior to the PS4, as one “insider” claimed ahead of this all being announced. The language is very clear that this “may” affect in-game currency (like FIFA Points, for example) or progress “towards” particular Trophies, but you’re not going to lose access to titles that you’ve purchased or suddenly have trinkets wiped from your account.

Still, we commend the brave souls going through with this. Godspeed to you all!

[via neogaf.com]