Ever wanted to give The Elder Scrolls Online a try without spending a penny? Bethesda has your back. The publisher has announced that, as part of its QuakeCon celebrations, the MMO will be made available to all free of charge for the next six days.

This starts today -- Thursday 9th August -- at 10am EST / 7am PDT / 3pm BST. The free event will go on until Wednesday 15th August at 10am EST / 7am PDT / 3pm BST. Included is the Elder Scrolls Online base game in its entirety, as well as the Vvardenfell area, which should keep you very busy during the six day period. If you already own the main game but haven't purchased Vvardenfell, you'll be able to access this expansion for free as well. And don't fret about PlayStation Plus either - you won't need a subscription to Sony's service to take part.

This ties in with the US PlayStation Store's current QuakeCon sale, which includes Elder Scrolls Online content, so if you like what you play, it's available at a reduced price. This is a great opportunity to give the RPG a shot, as we feel it's an underappreciated experience on PS4.

Will you be sampling Elder Scrolls Online during Quake-Con? Accept the quest in the comments below.

[via elderscrollsonline.com, vgr.com]