Destiny 2 just can't seem to get out of the firing line. Following the launch of its first expansion, Curse of Osiris, players quickly discovered that those who didn't buy it were locked out of various endgame activities -- namely the Prestige Raid and the Prestige Nightfall. This was due to the fact that the add-on raised the level cap, and these activities got bumped up alongside it. Content that players previously had access to had suddenly been cut off.

In a lengthy new blog post, Bungie has admitted to its cock-ups, writing "with Curse of Osiris now live, it’s clear that we’ve made some mistakes with how we have handled content access." The developer plans on pushing out a patch later today (12th December) that essentially allows all players to access the Prestige Raid. However, Bungie says that the Prestige Nightfall will remain exclusive to those who own Curse of Osiris. Be sure to click through here for all the details.

Oh, and this means that the game's Platinum Trophy is once again obtainable for everyone. Hurrah!

Unfortunately, the implementation of these changes means that Destiny 2 will be taken offline for approximately seven hours. The downtime will start at 07:00 PT/15:00 GMT and it'll last until 14:00 PT/22:00 GMT. In other words, if you plan on playing Destiny 2 tonight and you're in Europe, you're probably out of luck.

But hey, at least Bungie is taking action -- we all know Destiny 2 needs some work right now.

[via bungie.net]