French publisher Ubisoft is charging its smartphone ahead of a big reveal later today, which is almost certain to pertain to delayed PlayStation 4 escapade Watch Dogs. The title had originally been set to deploy alongside Sony’s next generation system late last year, but the company has been keeping details regarding the adventure encrypted ever since it was pushed back at the very last minute.

However, an accidental test image on the PlayStation Blog last week teased the imminent announcement of a new release date, and various executives from the firm have been hinting at something similar over the past few days. Now, the Nordic arm of the organisation has told its Facebook followers to expect something big at 18:00PM CET (17:00PM GMT/12:00PM EST/09:00AM PST).

While it’s plausible that this could be related to any of the publisher’s upcoming products, the Twitter account for GAME’s branch in Eastleigh may have let the cat out of the bag, confirming a 27th May arrival for the abovementioned excursion, before promptly pulling the message. Are you eagerly awaiting more information on the open world outing? Hack together a response in the comments section below.

Update: A leaked trailer has all but confirmed the 27th May release date. We're waiting for official word from Ubisoft.

[via facebook.com, videogamer.com, vg247.com]