You're never going to see a megaton announcement at GamesCom, but because the anticipation is lower, those muted surprises are all the more impactful. The PlayStation 3 Slim announcement in 2009 was huge, and we'll never forget the furore surrounding Resistance 3 last year.

This year we're expecting small but eye-catching announcements from Sony, mostly revolving around the PlayStation Vita's still secretive software line-up.

But Sony's not the only publisher taking to the stage today, as EA will also be holding a press conference in Germany this afternoon. We expect the publisher to link up with Starbreeze in order to finally announce its heavily rumoured Syndicate reboot.

Both press conferences are due to be streamed online, so here's everything you need to know:

  • EA — 07:00AM PDT / 15:00PM BST / 16:00PM CET — Live Stream
  • Sony — 10:00AM PDT / 18:00PM BST / 19:00PM CET — Live Stream

Let us know your hopes, fears and predictions in the comments below. Obviously we'll be on-hand for up-to-the-minute analysis as the announcements drop. Remember to follow our Twitter account for more reaction.